Entry the First

Beginnings are always tricky. I have to somehow get you to give a shit about what I’m going to write in the future without actually having any content to grab your attention in this introduction itself. Maybe I’ll borrow content from someone from a long time ago:

“Behold! human beings living in a underground den, which has a mouth open towards the light and reaching all along the den; here they have been from their childhood, and have their legs and necks chained so that they cannot move, and can only see before them, being prevented by the chains from turning round their heads. Above and behind them a fire is blazing at a distance, and between the fire and the prisoners there is a raised way; and you will see, if you look, a low wall built along the way, like the screen which marionette players have in front of them, over which they show the puppets…To them, I said, the truth would be literally nothing but the shadows of the images.”
-Plato’s Republic, Book VII

Maybe that isn’t your cup of tea, hmm what about this then:

“Britney Spears’ former assistant Shannon Funk has been subpoenaed in the custody battle with Brit’s ex-husband, Kevin Federline. Funk was served late Tuesday night at the Long Beach, Calif., airport. Earlier this week Alli Sims, 26, Britney’s close friend and assistant was served, as was the singer’s bodyguard, Daimon Shippen.”
-http://www.nationalenquirer.com/britney_custody_battle/celebrity/64137

But I’m not going to be copying and pasting (from such philosophical texts as Plato’s Republic, or The National Enquirer), in my Blog entries. I’ve always felt like I have worthwhile ideas from time to time, but I don’t do anything with them, so like a fart in a wide open field, they eventually vanish. Some days, like after a full Indian meal, I might have more “ideas”, but again they go away before long, leaving no mark. (For the most part anyway. Everyone’s had a couple of “ideas” that were pretty shitty and did leave a mark.) Anyway. Via this blog I hope to bring my ideas into the material world, for my own sake, and with the hope that there will be people out there who will enjoy them.

Donatello had a vision of the perfect human form and sculpted David out of clay.
Karl Marx had revolutionary ideas on the current social structure and transcribed them on paper, influencing countless minds.
Bach heard the sound of the Brandenburg Concerto in his mind, and reproduced it with an orchestra for others to be moved by.
I…sometimes get farcical ideas and am going to reproduce them on wordpress.com…
Well that being said I’ll bring an end to this introduction. It doesn’t really matter anyway because people will only read it if they come to like what I produce in the future, and find this introduction while looking through my other entries. In that case they will already like my work, so this introduction is worth less than a…well thought out analogy in an unimportant introduction.

So here’s to hoping that what I will write in the future is good enough to lead you back here.

Cheers!
-David

Leave a Reply

